The Family Blog

Tuesday, February 13 2018

Always Wanted to Know

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/...

Monday, February 12 2018

Flir Lenses Exist

Kept hearing people complaining about no zoom on Flir. About 19 minutes in Clive shows one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS1p...

Sunday, February 4 2018

Why Cops Shoot Charging Attackers

Clip https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y49...

Full Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vix...

Tueller Drill https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuell...

http://www.policemag.com/channel/we...

Thursday, February 1 2018

Speaker Switching

Kept looking around and see the switchers I want, but I'd prefer to hack my own. This type of rotary switch looks to be the secret.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1829503369...

Wednesday, January 31 2018

Bonding on Ubuntu 17.04

This works as long as you use PCI not MAC's as it lists in the article. I forgot that bit and that delayed me.

https://wiki.debian.org/Bonding

Sunday, January 28 2018

Tear Free Meter

Looks good for the price, but I still want a B&K meter. The continuity sucks.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mustool-MT...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH0...

Friday, January 26 2018

Good Idea for Cabinet Lighting

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-...

Thursday, January 25 2018

Want Cheap HDMI to QAM

Looks like more people are making them, hopefully the price will come down. Once it hits $100 and still has a brand, I'm buying.

$200 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0779R3ZP...

$500 http://www.provideoinstruments.com/...

Good News is Analog on Any Channel is Cheap at $80: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008TVN9X...

Update 1/28/18 Composit to QAM $105: https://www.ebay.com/itm/2828061960...

Wednesday, January 24 2018

Polarity & Voltage Meter

Nice idea to avoid using probes. Hopefully, it doesn't suffer from all-in-one syndrome where the individual parts aren't the best.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-AC...

Tuesday, January 23 2018

Magnets

Didn't know you could buy them with holes in them already.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/10Pcs-Supe...

H/T https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bM2...

Monday, January 22 2018

Spinning Clocks

Now, spinning displays:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKj...

Sunday, January 21 2018

We Need a Real Life Dexter

Lots more potential serial killers out there:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKj...

Saturday, January 20 2018

San Jose Real Estate

I remember a story about flying home each night, being cheaper than living in the Bay Area. I guess there are air taxi's that would make such a feat even more economical.

https://www.surfair.com/us/

http://www.ktvu.com/news/flying-to-...

Thursday, January 18 2018

King of Random Charged

https://www.sltrib.com/news/2018/01...

Tuesday, January 16 2018

Funny Company Name

http://bloody.com/en/product.php?pi...

Sunday, January 14 2018

Flex Baskets

I love these things from the orange apron and stock-up whenever I go.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/11-4-in...

Saturday, January 13 2018

3d Printers

Building cases is one of the reasons I want a 3d printer.

http://www.buildlog.net/blog/wp-con...

From this page:

http://www.buildlog.net/blog/2018/0...

Friday, January 12 2018

Circ De Telescopic Loaders

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxCU...

Thursday, January 11 2018

Good Idea

I like this mat with numbered built-in trays to keep track of stuff. Don't know if I'll buy.

https://www.banggood.com/S-170-480x...

Wednesday, January 10 2018

Cheap Smart Phone Trading App

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOr...

- page 1 of 30

Powered by